Opportunity

Coreopsis and Valerian

In front of my house is a crescent shaped perennial garden. Though small in size, it gives me endless entertainment, both in tending to its needs and musing on its ecology.

Each spring I purchase a sampler of perennials. Every year brings surprises. 2012 gave me a complementary trio of color with coreopsis, valerian, and Lucifer’s tongue.

The irrigation for the yard comes from a funky system, gravity fed from a stream that is miles away. The ancient metal pipe narrows on its descent to our property. Once here, it attaches to an even smaller plastic pipe generating pressure adequate enough to water our trees and gardens. Radiator clamps hold the fittings together.

Froggy’s Home

The two hose bibs I use to water the garden both leak. It’s not enough to cause a puddle but the soil next to the pipe stays moist through the dry season and supports a healthy ground cover. Two large rhododendrons shade the damp spots, creating an environment sufficiently wet to attract a frog.

No doubt, my cold blooded pioneer smelled the water and hopped toward the opportunity. The habitat seems to suit him, as this is the third year I’ve heard his distressed gargle of a croak. And, why not, the flowers attract bugs, the soil is wet enough for his amphibious jacket, and there are no snakes seeking their own opportunities. He’s found balanced natural surroundings that support his needs.

The microenvironment of our bone marrow has similar characteristics. It consists of a moist fertile soil that nurtures all the components of our blood system. The rich environment serves as a safe haven for normal blood cells, and ironically, for malignant cells as well.

Another seasonal visitor

The cancer I have is multiple myeloma. The malignancy is specific to plasma cells, a variety of white cell critical to maintaining a healthy immune system. Patients diagnosed with the precursor MGUS, may harbor cancerous cells for years without treatment. The cozy environs of our bone marrow support this phenomenon.

The same can be said for those with smoldering or indolent myeloma. However, without treatment, these stages of the disease compromise the bone marrow environment. The loss of ecological balance leads to systemic problems.

Why do the plasma cells become malignant in the first place? Researchers don’t know for certain. Some patients may be predisposed due to irregularities in their DNA. Others may have experienced exposure to toxins in the larger environment that led to errors as blood stem cells created new supplies.

Cosmos and Baby’s Breath

Cancer, like my extraordinary garden frog, migrates to opportunity. The perfect correlation of elements appeared in my garden and matched a frog’s adaptive purpose. That symmetry is essential to life. Cancer, on the other hand, finds opportunity in weakness. And, left unchecked, it upsets the symmetry wherever it appears.

Last evening, I drenched the area by the rhododendrons. I was anticipating the 90-degree temperatures forecast for today. When finally, I shut off the sprinkler, my amphibious friend emitted a single croak. I realize his indifference to my activities. Nonetheless, I’ll accept this announcement as a thank you.


3 thoughts on “Opportunity

  1. Every word works; your photos and your word images sing with beauty; the whole piece exudes a peacefulness that I am delighted you are experiencing, and that I want for myself.

    Like

  2. I stumbled on your blog – and a couple of words caught my attention – hood river, cancer, cats – and i spent some time reading.

    i’m 33, and was diagnosed with ALL back in 2010 – i am undergoing maintenance chemo through an experimental protocol from MD Anderson. my stem cells were frozen for a possible future auto-transplant.

    my wife and i have two cats – cheyenne and cam – and i could very well understand your post a long time back about missing your cats.
    Your post about Buckwheat’s passing was very touching. they mean the world to us and have been a great support through my treatment.

    finally – the oregon connection – i did my master’s at OSU – and we would often drive to to Mt Hood to ski – hood river of course came on the way! I grew up in India BTW – and now live in Dallas. when i was dating my wife, i brought her up to Oregon and we did visit Mt Hood – the last time was in 2006 – miss the pacific north-west!

    all the best for your treatment – and guess now i have another blog to keep abreast off!

    Ajit

    Like

Leave a comment